Travel restrictions to Europe: Important Information

The coronavirus crisis is a pandemic which has spread across the globe, with cases reported on five continents. At this moment, the European Union is considered to be at the epicenter of the COVID-19 pandemic.

In the interest of public health and safety, please note:

– The European Union has banned all non-essential travel to the Schengen area for non-EU nationals as part of its response to the coronavirus pandemic. The temporary travel restriction applies for 30 days. The temporary travel restrictions exempt:

• EU citizens and citizens of the Schengen Associated States, and their family members
• third-country nationals who are long-term residents under the Long-term Residence Directive and persons deriving their right to reside from other EU Directives or national law or who hold national long-term visas
• Healthcare professionals, health researchers, and elderly care professionals
• Frontier workers
• Transport personnel engaged in haulage of goods and other transport staff
• Diplomats, staff of international organizations, military personnel and humanitarian aid workers
• Passengers in transit
• Passengers travelling for imperative family reasons
• Persons in need of international protection or for other humanitarian reason

– Schengen-visa, that have already been issued by the Embassy cannot be changed afterwards, nor can fees be refunded.

– Until further notice, the German Embassy in Dhaka does not accept or issue visa for Hungary or Estonia.

– Until further notice, the visa section remains open for national visa applications.

For more information, please visit:

Source: German embassy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *